Friday, May 16, 2014

#BringBackOurGirls

 A Daughter of God SKWeckesser #BringBackOurGirls

I am SO honoured to be part of   Jessica Sporn's A Call to Art Auction in honor of the Nigerian girls who were kidnapped.  The proceeds to this auction go to Girl Rising, a global campaign for girls' education. The topic or this horrific event has arisen in our home many, MANY times over the last month since it happened. My teenage daughters and I often discuss the right of education and freedom for everyone and to be honest with you as I type this blog post I find it extremely difficult to choke back the tears. This is 2013 and what a beautiful planet we have. We have all worked so hard to be on this planet, if only we could all enjoy the blessings of it… equally.

The piece that I created is called A Daughter of God. It is a mixed media canvas that was made using Dylusion Ink Sprays from Ranger Ink , ICE Resin Iced Enamels, dries flowers, bee wax and a lot of heart.

As I wrote the words on the canvas I couldn’t help but tear up as I thought about the daughters that have been taken and then my mind thought about my own sweet girls. As a mother my heart has broken. I can’t even imagine.

Call to Art Flyer White Background

The online auc­tion began May 15th at 7AM EDT and ends May 17th at 3PM EDT.  I  hope you will join me the other amazing artists Jes­sica Sporn, Linda Kittmer, Mar­jie Kem­per, Judy Shea, Glenda Hoagland, Astrid McleanNat Kalbach, MaryBeth ShawLisa Pace, and many oth­ers.  You  can read more about this HERE.    And if you would like to bid on my piece you can HERE.

Jessica Sporn   http://jessicasporn.blogspot.com

Linda Kittmer  http://lindakittmer.blogspot.ca

Ronda Palazzari  http://rondapalazzari.typepad.com

Marjie Kemper   http://www.marjiekemper.com

Judy Shea   http://thekeytomyart.wordpress.com

Glenda Hoagland   http://pilgrimsthoughts.blogspot.com

Astrid Maclean  http://astridsartisticefforts.blogspot.com

Lisa Pace   http://lisapace.com

Jackie Neal   http://creatingwithoutcrayons-jackiepneal.com

Claudine Criner   http://claudinesartcorner.blogspot.com

France Papillon   http://www.france-papillon.com

Kristin Van Valkenburgh  http://TwinkleTwinkleLikeAStar.blogspot.com

Marcia Beckett  http://marciabeckett.blogspot.com

Ruth Levy   http://lerusho.wordpress.com/

Sally Lynn MacDonald   http://www.SallyLynnMacDonald.com

Renee Zarate   http://renee-boltonhouse.blogspot.com

Natasha May   http://natashamay.blogspot.com/

Carmen Whitehead   http://www.serendipitystudiobycw.blogspot.com/

Seth Apter   http://thealteredpage.blogspot.com/

Marybeth Shaw   http://mbshaw.blogspot.com/

Amy Ingardia-Walker  http://creativelyquirkyathome.blogspot.com/

Kelly Warren  http://happyshackdesigns.blogspot.com

Julie Bernier http://juliebernierphotography.zenfolio.com/

Adrienne Hoban  http://www.allure-decor.com/

Krista van Tol   http://craftylittlepigtails.blogspot.com

Cheryl Grigsby http://cherylspaperartz.blogspot.com

Jill Meyer www.jillmeyer.com

Lisa Flaherty http://mypeaceofpaper.blogspot.com

Kerry C. Mitchell http://kerrycmitchell.com

Lizabeth Harrington http://www.craicarts.blogspot.com; www.facebook.com/craicarts.com

Barbara Lanza www.barbaralanza.com

Jamie Dougherty www.jamiedoughertydesigns.com

Doreen Kassel www.doreenkassel.com ; www.http://doreengay-kassel.blogspot.com/

Nancy Baumiller http://crowabout.blogspot.com

Valerie Roussel https://www.facebook.com/CreativeLaureline

Susan K. Weckesser http://mysweetearth.blogspot.ca/ <------------ME

Thank-you from the bottom of my heart!!!! And a BIG thank-you to Jessica Sporn  for putting this together! Together we really can make a difference in this world…we really can, even if at the moment it seems impossible!

Hugs,

Susan xoxo

6 comments:

  1. So beautiful! So proud to see so many coming together for such an important issue.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is not only a beautiful piece of work, the thought and heart behind it is beautiful! This story and cause has brought tears to my eyes as well. What kind of people do this? It is almost unfathomable that such hatred is on this planet. It really makes me value my life, freedom and my blessings. Many blessings to you Susan for helping this cause!
    xxDaniella

    ReplyDelete
  3. This situation really makes my heart break.. I can only imagine what their families are going through. Thank you Susan.
    Hopefully we CAN make a difference!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is gorgeous! It's so wonderful of you, and the others, working to give support to such a worthy cause. Thank You!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Beautiful piece for a great cause!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Such a beautiful piece of heART!

    ReplyDelete

I would LOVE to hear from you! Please feel free to leave a message!
~Susan

ShareThis2